Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Chair #104

PRIDE CHAIR (one of the 'Seven Deadly Sins' chair series)
—Designed by Thomas Von Staffeldt

Brilliant! OK, here's the deal with this chair. It's part of a series named “Saligia”, the Latin acronym for the deadly sins. Designer Thomas Von Staffeldt has redesigned the classic “Model 3107″ chair made famous by Danish architect and designer Arne Jacobsen. The chairs, also known simply as “The Number Seven,” have each been redesigned by Von Staffeldt to represent one of seven deadly sins. This is the Superbia chair. Look for more 'Seven Deadly Sins' chairs on this blog, such as Chair #162 on June 11th.

+ + +

The Seven Deadly Sins are:

luxuria (extravagance)
gula (gluttony)
avaritia (avarice/greed)
acedia (acedia/discouragement)
ira (wrath)
invidia (envy)
superbia (pride)

No comments:

Post a Comment